Source: "1879 History of Herkimer County," published by Beers, page 239, and "History of Herkimer County, New York," George A. Hardin, Frank H. Willard, D. Mason & Co., Publishers, 1893, page 449.

Town Supervisors 1824 - 1892
Hemstreet, J. D.1824, 1825, 1832, 1834
Fox, W. S., jr.1826
Thorp, David, jr.1827-30, 1833
Paull, John1831
Reese, Samuel1835
Vickrey, Asa1836, 1839, 1840, 1844
McDonald, Philo F.1837, 1838
Conkling, Henry S.1841, 1842
Coppernoll, William1843, 1845, 1850, 1853, 1854, 1859
Abeel, Albert1846-49, 1851, 1852, 1855-58
Wood, R. H.1860, 1861, 1865
Wood, M. L.1862
Gibson, Samuel1863, 1864, 1871-73
Emery, John1866, 1867
Burt, William S.1868-70
Willoughby, H. O.1874, 1875
Fisher, John H.1876, 1877
Brown, James M.1878, 1879
Lawton, Lewis1881-84
Curtis, Thorne E.1885
Wallace, Christopher1886
Abeel, James1887-1889
Ouderkirk, Firman1890-92

Town Clerks 1824 - 1878
Fox, William S.1824
Thorp, David1825, 1826
Coppernoll, G. A.1827, 1829-31, 1833-35, 1839, 1852, 1853
Martin, Joel1828
Reese, S.1832, 1836, 1838
Coppernall, W.1837
Wood, R. H.1840, 1844, 1845
Abeel, Albert1841-43
Hemstreet, M.1846-48
Wiggins, R. H.1849
Johnson, Charles1850, 1851, 1855
Ross, L. E.1854
Williams, John O.1856, 1857
Dubois, Wesley1858, 1859, 1862
Cumming, James Y.1860
Wood, M. L.1861
Paull, Charles H.1863, 1864, 1866, 1871
Johnson, George G.1864
Morse, Amos1867
Shufelt, J. I.1868, 1869
Gray, William L.1870
Bennett, William1872, 1873
Kassing, T.1874, 1875
Streeter, H. S.1876
Ashley, T. J.1877
Thompkins, Stephen1878

Elected Town Officials - 1882

new 1/14/06 Source: The Herkimer Democrat," Herkimer, NY, 15 Feb 1882

Town meeting resulted in a Republican victory. The following are the majorities of the principal officers:
James M. Brown, supervisor, 57;
James Hane, justice of the peace, 22;
Thorn E. Curtis, town clerk, 52;
Samuel Gibson, (dem.) assessors, full term, 4;
Simeon Quackenbush, assessor, vacancy, 21;
Thomas Williams, commissioner of highways, 70;
Michael Heinig, collector, 13;
W. W. Bollock, overseer of poor, 21.

Ohio Candidates for Election, 1891

Source: The "Herkimer Democrat," Wed. Feb. 11, 1891

Firman Ouderkirk, the democratic candidate for supervisor, had no opposition. The tickets were as follows:

SupervisorFirman OuderkirkFirman Ouderkirk
Town ClerkPhillip Brondstatter, jr.Thorne E. Curtis
Justices of the PeaceLewis J. HammWilliam C. Somers (full term)
Thomas Williams (for vacancy)
AssessorFred BrooksHenry Strobel
Commissioner of HighwaysCharles R. SnyderRudolph Luke
Overseer of PoorGeorge R. TurnerAdelbert Bardwell
CollectorChris DegenkolbSewall Harvey
Inspectors of ElectionJohn S. Wood
S. N. DuBois
Stephen Tompkins
Ira Quackenbush
Fred Comstock
Fred Johnson
ConstablesGeorge W. Delong
Warren Hodge
James K. Nellis
J. Davenport
Joseph Comstock
Alfred Ash
John LcIntosh
Edward J. Miller
Fred Johnson
Christopher Wallace
Town House Gray


Source: "1879 History of Herkimer County," published by F.W. Beers

These are the county officials (prior to 1879) that are listed in Beers as being from Ohio.  There are probably many others from Ohio as many of the officials who were listed had no place of residence indicated within the list! 

NameDatePosition Held
Vickery, Asa1850Assemblyman
Coppernoll, William1858Assemblyman

Back to The Town of Ohio Page

Back to Herkimer/Montgomery Counties GenWeb

Back to New York State GenWeb

Back to USGenWeb

Last Updated: 1/15/06

Copyright ©1998-2006 Lisa Slaski
All Rights Reserved.